2016-11-02 09:30 – Louzel Lombard Steyn

Cape town – Eager explorers and travellers with loved ones in Doha will be happy to know that state-owned flag carrier of Qatar, Qatar Airways, has announced the addition of a free Transit Visa for passengers with lengthy layovers.

The free Transit Visa will be applicable to all Qatar Airways passengers with a transit or stopover between 5 and 96 hours – or four days – in Doha.

Passengers booking a multi-city option with Qatar Airways can simply include the stopover in Doha to their booking, at no extra charge. The bookings and application for the free transit visas, however, will need to be done at least 7 days (excluding public holidays) prior to departure.

qatar airways

The visa will then be valid for 90 days from the date of issuance.

The following documents will be needed to obtain the free transit visa:

A clear passport copy for each passenger (including infants). The passport should be valid for a minimum of 6 months at the time of entry into Qatar.

The confirmed tickets into Qatar and onwards must be on Qatar Airways operated flights only. Passengers travelling on code-share flights will not be eligible.

NOTE: Passengers need to ensure the information included in their visa approval notification matches the details stated on their passport.

IMPORTANT: Passengers are required to print a copy of the approved visa to travel with, as it should be presented prior to check-in and upon arrival in Qatar.

SEE: Here are your SA visa-free destinations: Coming soon, Europe?

The following terms and conditions will apply:

Entry into Qatar will be at the discretion of the immigration authorities.

Qatar Airways is not responsible for the decision taken by the immigration authorities. Qatar Airways offices only act as a processing agent for visa applications and therefore will not be liable for any expenses incurred should there be a delay in visa issuance or rejection from the Ministry of Interior, State of Qatar.

Passengers holding return tickets and originating their journey from the following countries (Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Saudi Arabia, South Sudan, Sudan, and the United Arab Emirates) will be only eligible for one stopover on the outbound journey.
Stopovers on one-way journeys originating from these countries are not permitted.

Passengers originating from any other country are eligible for stopovers on either inbound or outbound journeys. The transit visa can be availed in one direction only for the entire journey.

The pre-approved transit visa is a single-entry visa valid for a maximum period of 96 hours only.

Entry into Qatar with the approved visa must be within 90 days from the date of issuance. Extension of validity is not permitted, and in this case, a new visa application must be submitted.

This facility will not be applicable if Qatar is your final destination.

All other expenses including accommodation costs in Qatar if any, must be borne by the passenger.

In case of visa rejection upon arrival into Qatar, the airline will endeavour to accommodate you on the first available flight to your onward journey or you may choose to return to your origin or any other destination at your own expense. The unused portion of the ticket can be refunded at the original issuing office.

In addition, reservations and ticketing terms and conditions apply.

Some nationalities are eligible for a Qatar tourist visa on arrival. Click here to learn more.

What to read next on Traveller24: 

– A time-strapped guide for transit travellers in Turkey

– Singapore Airlines offers spending money to SA travellers on route to Changi Airport

– Here are your SA visa-free destinations: Coming soon, Europe?