Qatar to soon have five traffic zones

The Traffic Department is gearing up to implement the first phase of its plan to create traffic zones in five areas across the country where 75 percent of traffic accidents and the related mortalities and injuries happen.

The plan was approved by the National Committee for Traffic Safety, based on a study on traffic accidents in different areas, said Brigadier Mohammed Al Malki, General Secretary of the Committee. According to the plan, there will be five traffic administrative areas – Al Shamal (North), Al Janoub (South), Al Mamoura, Al-Rayyan and Industrial Area.

qatar airways

Brigadier Mohammed Saad Al Kharji, Director of the General Directorate of Traffic, commended the role of the team working in implementation of the plan at a meeting held at the Traffic Department headquarters on Thursday.

Al Kharji said that the new traffic divisions will be staffed with an engineer from the engineering section of the Traffic department, in addition to an officer in charge of the area to provide the team with technical and legal support during implementation of the plan.

These steps will help in controlling traffic accidents and dealing with incidents in a very fast manner, he added. The traffic officer will be responsible for coordination and monitoring in each zone, evaluating traffic jams on roads, and near schools and commercial areas, said Al Malki.

Traffic zones ‘successful in many countries’

The officers will report to the authorities concerned seeking solution and action to address traffic jams, he added. The Manager of the National Traffic Safety Office at the Committee, Prof Dr Kim Jraiw, highlighted the importance of such traffic zones, presenting some successful experiences from different countries. He said that the National Road Safety Office will support the project through collection of relevant information, assessment, continuous updating .

The office facilitates visits to the five zones by representatives from the Public Work Authority – Ashghal, General Directorate of Traffic, the Ministry of Transport and Communications, the Ministry of Municipality and Environment, the Ministry of Education and Higher Education and the Ministry of Public Health.

The General Secretary of the National Committee for Traffic Safety, Brigadier Mohammed Maarafi, and a number of other officials were present at the meeting.