2015 Dakar Rally – Stage 5 update

Dakar Rally 2015: Marc Coma, Vladimir Vasilyev win stage five; Toby Price 10th, Geoff Olholm 43rd

THE king and the pretender to his throne have continued their battle for supremacy on the Dakar Rally, with veteran Marc Coma taking his first stage victory on the fifth day of the event.

The two-time winner of the motorcycle category took out the 458-kilometre fifth stage from Copiapo to Antofagasta by over two minutes from overall leader Joan Barreda.

qatar airways

Australia’s Toby Price notched up another top ten stage finish to consolidate his position inside the top ten in the overall standings.

While the main contenders ruled the day on two wheels, it was the outsiders who stole the show in the car category.

Russian Mini driver Vladimir Vasilyev romped to his first Dakar stage triumph, while Nasser Al-Attiyah extended his overall lead despite finishing fourth.


OVERALL STANDINGS — 2015 Dakar Rally after Stage 5
1. Joan Barreda (ESP) Honda 17h51m05s
2. Marc Coma (ESP) KTM +10m33s
3. Paulo Goncalves (POR) Honda +22m50s
4. Pablo Quintanilla (CHL) KTM +31m06s
5. Jordi Viladoms (ESP) KTM +36m23s
6. Ruben Faria (POR) KTM +38m13s
7. Matthias Walkner (AUT) KTM +38m36s
8. Toby Price (AUS) KTM +39m54s
9. Stefan Svitko (SVK) KTM +42m05s
10. Helder Rodrigues (POR) Honda +43m24s
69. Llewellyn Sullivan-Pavey (AUS) KTM +6h46m09s
71. Simon Pavey (AUS) KTM +7h08m43s

Yet to finish Stage 5
Clayton Jacobsen (AUS) KTM



OVERALL STANDINGS — 2015 Dakar Rally after Stage 5
1. Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT) Mini 16h53m26s
2. Giniel De Villiers (RSA) Toyota +10m35s
3. Yazeed Al Rajhi (SAU) Toyota +20m29s
4. Krzysztof Holowczyc (POL) Mini +48m55s
5. Erik Van Loon (NED) Mini +53m25s
6. Bernhard Ten Brinke (NED) Toyota +56m19s
7. Vladimir Vasliyev (RUS) Mini +1h09m52s
8. Christian Lavieille (FRA) Toyota +1h13m59s
9. Stephane Peterhansel (FRA) Peugeot +1h19m17s
10. Aidyn Rakhimbayev (KAZ) Mini +1h21m32s
35. Geoff Olholm (AUS) Toyota +6h37m49s
54. Peter Jerie (AUS) Toyota +17h13m50s

Out of rally
Adrian Di Lallo (AUS) Isuzu (Stage 3, did not start)

Read the full text news resource site…
Source News: Foxsports.com